Handball Referee Test - Practice Your Rule Knowledge

Reviewed by Editorial Team
The ProProfs editorial team is comprised of experienced subject matter experts. They've collectively created over 10,000 quizzes and lessons, serving over 100 million users. Our team includes in-house content moderators and subject matter experts, as well as a global network of rigorously trained contributors. All adhere to our comprehensive editorial guidelines, ensuring the delivery of high-quality content.
Learn about Our Editorial Process
| By Jedermann
J
Jedermann
Community Contributor
Quizzes Created: 1 | Total Attempts: 3,417
| Attempts: 3,428
SettingsSettings
Please wait...
  • 1/330 Questions

    78.  B6 catches the ball, slips to fall. Lying on his back, he passes the ball to B9. Correct decision?    

    • A) Free-throw for A
    • B) The game continues without interruption.
    • C) Free-throw for B
Please wait...
About This Quiz

Based on the 2010 Edition of the Rule Book Many questions have more than one correct answer!

Handball Referee Test - Practice Your Rule Knowledge - Quiz

Quiz Preview

  • 2. 

    138. The goalkeeper of team B executes a goalkeeper-throw towards the goal of team A. No player from either team touches the ball, and it enters the goal of team A. Correct decision? 

    • A) Goalkeeper-throw for A

    • B) Throw-in for A

    • C) Goal

    • D) Warning to the goalkeeper of team B for unsportsmanlike conduct

    Correct Answer
    A. C) Goal
    Explanation
    The correct decision is c) Goal. In soccer, if the goalkeeper of the opposing team executes a goalkeeper-throw and the ball enters the goal without being touched by any other player, it is considered a goal. Since no player from either team touched the ball, the goal is valid.

    Rate this question:

  • 3. 

    70.  A4 catches the ball while standing. He then jumps and lands on the right foot jumps to his left foot to throw. How many steps has A4 taken?     

    • A) 1

    • B) 2

    • C) 3

    • D) 4

    Correct Answer
    A. B) 2
    Explanation
    A4 catches the ball while standing, so this does not count as a step. Then, A4 jumps and lands on his right foot, which is the first step. Finally, he jumps from his right foot to his left foot to throw, which is the second step. Therefore, A4 has taken 2 steps.

    Rate this question:

  • 4. 

    150. Goalkeeper A stops a shot, deflecting the ball across the goal line beside the goal; which hand signal(s) should the referee on the goal line show?    

    • A) Number 8: (goalkeeper-throw)

    • B) Number 9: (free-throw - direction)

    • C) First signal 9, then signal 8

    • D) First signal 8, then signal 9

    Correct Answer
    A. A) Number 8: (goalkeeper-throw)
    Explanation
    The correct answer is a) Number 8: (goalkeeper-throw). When the goalkeeper stops a shot and deflects the ball across the goal line beside the goal, the referee on the goal line should show the hand signal for a goalkeeper-throw, which is number 8. This signal indicates that the goalkeeper is allowed to throw the ball back into play.

    Rate this question:

  • 5. 

    68.  A risky pass from wing player B3 to pivot B11. When the ball is in the air, B11 realizes that he will not be able to catch it so he hits it with his fist to feed B9, who is standing in the middle of the court. Correct decision?     

    • A) The game continues without interruption

    • B) Free-throw for team A from B9's position

    • C) Free-throw for team A from the free-throw line near B11

    • D) 2-minute suspension for B11

    Correct Answer
    A. A) The game continues without interruption
    Explanation
    In this situation, B11 intentionally hits the ball with his fist to feed B9, who is standing in the middle of the court. This is considered a legal play and does not warrant any penalty or interruption in the game. Therefore, the correct answer is that the game continues without interruption.

    Rate this question:

  • 6. 

    258. Goalkeeper B1 has left his goal area. He jumps up in the playing area and catches a pass from a teammate while in the air. Thereafter he lands with both feet inside his goal area. Correct decision?    

    • A) Play continues.

    • B) Goalkeeper-throw for B

    • C) Free-throw for A

    • D) 7-meter throw for A e) Time-out

    Correct Answer
    A. C) Free-throw for A
  • 7. 

     76.  A5 wants to start an attack. To that end he bounces the ball repeatedly while taking 5 steps. He then takes the ball up again to pass it. Correct decision?     

    • A) Free-throw for team B

    • B) Free-throw for team A

    • C) The game continues without interruption

    • D) 7-meter for team B

    Correct Answer
    A. C) The game continues without interruption
    Explanation
    The correct decision is c) The game continues without interruption. In handball, a player is allowed to take up to three steps while in possession of the ball. A5 takes 5 steps while bouncing the ball, which is against the rules. However, since this is not a violation that results in a free-throw or a penalty, the game continues without interruption.

    Rate this question:

  • 8. 

    60.  The score is 20:20: B7 intercepts a cross pass from team A to start a counter- attack with nobody of team A being capable to follow him. A spectator runs onto the court and pulls down B7 to the ground, leading to tumultuous scenes with even more spectators on the court. The coach of team B knocks the spectator down who has stopped B7. Correct decision?    

    • A) Suspend the match permanently

    • B) Time-out; 7-meter throw for B; disqualification of the coach of team B; reduce team B on the court for two minutes Written report

    • C) Time-out; 7-meter throw for B; Disqualification of coach B

    • D) Time-out; 7-meter throw for B; 2-minute suspension against coach of B

    Correct Answer
    A. B) Time-out; 7-meter throw for B; disqualification of the coach of team B; reduce team B on the court for two minutes Written report
    Explanation
    In this scenario, B7 intercepts a cross pass and starts a counter-attack with no one from team A able to follow him. However, a spectator runs onto the court and pulls down B7, causing a commotion with more spectators entering the court. The coach of team B then knocks down the spectator who stopped B7. The correct decision is to call a time-out and award a 7-meter throw to team B. Additionally, the coach of team B should be disqualified and team B should be reduced on the court for two minutes. A written report should also be made to document the incident.

    Rate this question:

  • 9. 

    112.  From where can the throw-off be taken?    

    • A) Up to 3 meters behind the centre line in the team's own half

    • B) Up to 3 meters across the centre line on the opponents half of the court

    • C) At the centre of the court with one foot on the centre line, with a tolerance sideways of about 1.5 meters

    Correct Answer
    A. C) At the centre of the court with one foot on the centre line, with a tolerance sideways of about 1.5 meters
    Explanation
    The correct answer is c) At the centre of the court with one foot on the centre line, with a tolerance sideways of about 1.5 meters. This means that the throw-off can be taken at the center of the court, with one foot on the center line. There is a tolerance of about 1.5 meters sideways, meaning the player can move slightly to the left or right while taking the throw-off. This answer specifies the exact location and conditions for taking the throw-off in a game.

    Rate this question:

  • 10. 

    1. What measurements do the rules lay down for the playing court? 

    • A) 40 x 20 meters

    • B) 42 x 20 meters

    • C) 38 x 18 meters

    • D) Length between 38 and 42, width between 18 and 22 meters.

    Correct Answer
    A. A) 40 x 20 meters
    Explanation
    1 a (1:1)

    Rate this question:

  • 11. 

    2. What are the required interior measurements of the goal? 

    • A) 1.92 x 2.92 meters

    • B) 2.00 x 3.00 meters

    • C) 2.05 x 3.05 meters

    • D) 2.08 x 3.08 meters

    Correct Answer
    A. B) 2.00 x 3.00 meters
    Explanation
    The required interior measurements of the goal are 2.00 x 3.00 meters.

    Rate this question:

  • 12. 

    22.  Four scenarios: Who is eligible to play?        

    • A) A player who is present at the beginning of the game and entered in the score sheet

    • B) A player who is not present at the beginning of the game but is entered in score sheet

    • C) A player who is present at the beginning of the game but not entered in the score sheet

    • D) A player who has received permission to play from the timekeeper but is not entered in the score sheet

    Correct Answer
    A. A) A player who is present at the beginning of the game and entered in the score sheet
    Explanation
    The correct answer is a) A player who is present at the beginning of the game and entered in the score sheet. This means that in order to be eligible to play, a player must be present at the beginning of the game and their name must be entered in the score sheet.

    Rate this question:

  • 13. 

    34. Goalkeeper A16 has been injured and must be replaced by A5. A5 changes his shirt. After 20 minutes A16 is able to play again and the coach makes a substitution. A5 is sent in as a court player again without notification to the scorekeeper. Correct decision?     

    • A) No punishment, since it is allowed

    • B) Free-throw for team B

    • C) 2-minute suspension for player A5

    • D) Disqualification of player A5

    Correct Answer
    A. A) No punishment, since it is allowed
    Explanation
    In handball, players are allowed to change positions during the game. In this case, A5 initially replaced A16 as the goalkeeper but later changed back to being a court player without notifying the scorekeeper. However, this is allowed and there is no punishment for it. Therefore, the correct decision is that there is no punishment for A5's actions.

    Rate this question:

  • 14. 

    75.  When taking a 7-meter throw, A4 hits the goal post. The ball bounds back to A4 without touching any teammate or opponent. A4 throws the ball into the goal. Correct decision?     

    • A) Free-throw for B

    • B) Goalkeeper-throw for B

    • C) Goal

    Correct Answer
    A. C) Goal
    Explanation
    According to the rules of handball, if a player takes a 7-meter throw and the ball rebounds back to them without touching any teammate or opponent, they are allowed to throw the ball into the goal. Therefore, it is a correct decision to award a goal in this situation.

    Rate this question:

  • 15. 

    106.  A6 executes a throw-in in the direction of his goalkeeper. The goalkeeper notices the ball too late and the ball crosses the goal line. Correct decision?    

    • A) Free-throw for B

    • B) Goal

    • C) Goalkeeper-throw for A

    • D) Repeat the throw-in after whistle

    Correct Answer
    A. B) Goal
    Explanation
    The correct decision is b) Goal. In soccer, if a player executes a throw-in and the ball crosses the goal line without being touched by another player, it is considered a goal. In this scenario, A6 executes a throw-in towards his goalkeeper, and even though the goalkeeper notices the ball too late, the ball still crosses the goal line. Since no other player touched the ball before it crossed the line, it is a valid goal.

    Rate this question:

  • 16. 

    299. A3 takes a shot on the goal of B and hits the goal-post. The ball is rolling back out of the goal area. At the free-throw line, A3 and B4 dive for the ball, without endangering each other. B4 manages to push the ball to B6 who starts a counter-attack and scores a goal. Correct decision?    

    • A) Warning

    • B) Goal for B

    • C) Free-throw for A or B depending on the circumstances

    • D) Goalkeeper-throw

    Correct Answer
    A. B) Goal for B
    Explanation
    A3 takes a shot on the goal of B and hits the goal-post, indicating that A3 was attempting to score a goal. The ball then rolls back out of the goal area. B4 and A3 both dive for the ball without endangering each other, meaning they both have a fair chance to gain possession. However, B4 manages to push the ball to B6, who starts a counter-attack and scores a goal. Since B6 successfully scored a goal, the correct decision is that it is a goal for B.

    Rate this question:

  • 17. 

    328.  Goalkeeper A16 executes a goalkeeper-throw making a long pass in direction of his teammate A4, who is running a counter-attack. A4 jumps to receive the ball and immediately after this collides with goalkeeper B1, who has decided to leave his goal area in an attempt to stop the counter-attack. At the moment of the collision, B4 stands completely still in front of the 9-meter line. After the collision, A4 loses his body control and falls to the floor. Correct decision?    

    • A) Offensive foul – free-throw for B

    • B) Free-throw for A

    • C) 7-meter throw for A

    • D) Progressive punishment against B1

    • E) Disqualification of B1

    Correct Answer(s)
    A. C) 7-meter throw for A
    A. E) Disqualification of B1
    Explanation
    The correct decision is to award a 7-meter throw for A and to disqualify B1. According to the rules, goalkeeper B1 is not allowed to leave the goal area and make contact with an opponent during a counter-attack. By colliding with A4, B1 has committed a foul and therefore A4 should be awarded a 7-meter throw. Additionally, B1 should be disqualified for leaving the goal area and making contact with an opponent.

    Rate this question:

  • 18. 

    105.  A3 enters his team's goal area and tries to stop a shot with his foot but the ball deflects off his foot  into the goal. Correct decision?     

    • A) Free-throw for B

    • B) 7-meter throw for B

    • C) Goal

    • D) Goalkeeper-throw for A

    Correct Answer
    A. C) Goal
    Explanation
    A3 entering his team's goal area and attempting to stop a shot with his foot indicates that he is the goalkeeper. If the ball deflects off his foot and goes into the goal, it is considered a legitimate goal. Therefore, the correct decision is c) Goal.

    Rate this question:

  • 19. 

    297. What should the distance be between the centre line and the start of the (substitution) benches?    

    • A) 1 meter

    • B) 2 meters

    • C) 3 meters

    • D) 3.5 meters

    Correct Answer
    A. D) 3.5 meters
    Explanation
    The distance between the centre line and the start of the (substitution) benches should be 3.5 meters.

    Rate this question:

  • 20. 

    41. Team A has only 12 players present at the beginning of the match, as the two goalkeepers are still missing. Team A therefore starts with one of the twelve court players as a goalkeeper. Which of the following alternatives are correct?    

    • A) The court player, who starts the match as a goalkeeper, must be registered as number 1, 12 or 16 in the match report.

    • B) The court player, who starts the match as a goalkeeper, can also be used as a court player later on.

    • C) Late-arriving goalkeepers of team A must be registered as number 1, 12 or 16 in the match report

    • D) One of the two late arriving goalkeepers can only be used as a court player

    Correct Answer
    A. B) The court player, who starts the match as a goalkeeper, can also be used as a court player later on.
    Explanation
    The correct answer is b) The court player, who starts the match as a goalkeeper, can also be used as a court player later on. This means that if one of the court players starts the match as a goalkeeper, they can switch positions and play as a court player later in the match. This allows the team to have a full roster of court players once the goalkeepers arrive.

    Rate this question:

  • 21. 

    151. When is a player to be disqualified?    

    • A) For seriously unsportsmanlike conduct

    • B) For destroying a clear chance of scoring through actively blocking a shot or pass by using his foot

    • C) For faulty substitution during suspension time

    • D) For not putting down the ball at a free-throw against his own team

    Correct Answer
    A. A) For seriously unsportsmanlike conduct
    Explanation
    A player is to be disqualified for seriously unsportsmanlike conduct. This means that if a player engages in behavior that is disrespectful, unethical, or goes against the spirit of fair play, they can be disqualified from the game. Examples of unsportsmanlike conduct may include cheating, fighting, using abusive language, or intentionally injuring another player. Disqualification serves as a punishment and a deterrent for such behavior, ensuring that players adhere to the principles of sportsmanship and fair play.

    Rate this question:

  • 22. 

    159. Being disappointed with a mistake, A3 slaps one of his teammates into his face. Correct decision?    

    • A) No action, because it involves a teammate

    • B) 2-minute suspension for A3

    • C) Disqualification of A3

    • D) Written report

    Correct Answer(s)
    A. C) Disqualification of A3
    A. D) Written report
    Explanation
    The correct decision is to disqualify A3 and file a written report. This is because slapping a teammate in the face is a violent and unsportsmanlike behavior that goes against the spirit of fair play. Disqualifying A3 sends a strong message that such actions will not be tolerated, and filing a written report ensures that there is a record of the incident for further action or investigation if needed.

    Rate this question:

  • 23. 

    223. A9 passes the ball to his goalkeeper A1, who is standing in the playing area. Because A9 is under pressure, he throws the ball too high, so that A1 must go back and enter the goal-area with one foot, immediately after catching the ball. Correct decision?    

    • A) Play continues.

    • B) Time-out

    • C) 7-meter throw for the opponents

    • D) Free-throw for the opponents

    Correct Answer
    A. D) Free-throw for the opponents
    Explanation
    A goalkeeper is not allowed to enter the goal-area with both feet after catching the ball from a teammate. In this scenario, A1 enters the goal-area with one foot, which is a violation of the rules. As a result, the opponents should be awarded a free-throw.

    Rate this question:

  • 24. 

    20.  Just after the match has started, the club president of home team A sits down on the bench with the two team officials, the masseur and the coach. What are the consequences?      

    • A) The substitute goalkeeper must stand behind the bench.

    • B) The club president must leave the substitution bench.

    • C) One of the officials must leave the substitution bench.

    • D) Whoever is not entered in the score sheet must leave the substitution bench.

    • E) The ‘responsible team official’ gets a progressive punishment.

    Correct Answer(s)
    A. D) Whoever is not entered in the score sheet must leave the substitution bench.
    A. E) The ‘responsible team official’ gets a progressive punishment.
  • 25. 

    190. Shortly before the end of the game the score is 24-23 (A-B). Free-throw for A about 1 meter outside the 9-meter line of B. All players first take a correct position, and the referee whistles for the execution of the free-throw, but then A10, who has the ball, clearly crosses the free-throw line, with one step in the direction of the goal of B. Correct decision?    

    • A) Free-throw for A

    • B) Time-out

    • C) Suspension of A10

    • D) Free-throw against A

    Correct Answer
    A. D) Free-throw against A
    Explanation
    A10 clearly crossed the free-throw line before executing the free-throw, which is a violation. Therefore, the correct decision is to award a free-throw against A.

    Rate this question:

  • 26. 

    266. At the start of the match: Which referee becomes the court referee and which one becomes the goal-line referee?    

    • A) The ‘first mentioned’ referee becomes the court referee.

    • B) The ‘first mentioned’ referee becomes the goal-line referee.

    • C) The referees use a coin toss to decide who starts where.

    • D) The referees are free to make their own choice.

    Correct Answer
    A. D) The referees are free to make their own choice.
    Explanation
    The correct answer is d) The referees are free to make their own choice. This means that there is no specific rule or requirement that determines which referee becomes the court referee and which one becomes the goal-line referee. It is up to the referees themselves to decide and make their own choice based on their preferences or agreement.

    Rate this question:

  • 27. 

    12. The goalkeeper deflects a shot and the ball rolls over the goal line outside the goal. The automatic final signal sounds immediately thereafter. The referees realize that the match has ended five minutes early. As the players are still on the court, the game is resumed by:    

    • A) Goalkeeper-throw

    • B) Free-throw

    • C) Without whistle signal

    • D) After whistle signal

    Correct Answer(s)
    A. A) Goalkeeper-throw
    A. D) After whistle signal
    Explanation
    The game is resumed by a goalkeeper-throw because the goalkeeper deflected the shot and the ball went out of bounds. A goalkeeper-throw is used to restart the game when the ball goes out of bounds over the goal line. Additionally, the game is resumed after the whistle signal because the automatic final signal sounded immediately after the ball went out of bounds.

    Rate this question:

  • 28. 

    166. Team A has the ball at the free-throw line of team B. Coach B is complaining about the referees so strongly in a way that they interrupt the game.  How is the game continued?     

    • A) Following punishment of coach B, free-throw for A from the substitution area of team B

    • B) Following punishment of coach B, free-throw for A from the 9-m line of B

    • Only A and B can be chosen.

    Correct Answer
    A. B) Following punishment of coach B, free-throw for A from the 9-m line of B
  • 29. 

    259. A2 is ready to execute a 7-meter throw.  The court referee whistles and A2 lets the ball drop to the floor. B3 immediately picks up the ball and plays it to B2 who scores a goal in a counter-attack. Correct decision?    

    • A) Goal for B

    • B) Repetition of the 7-meter throw

    • C) Free-throw against A

    • D) Time-out

    Correct Answer
    A. A) Goal for B
    Explanation
    The correct decision is a) Goal for B. According to the rules, when A2 lets the ball drop to the floor, it becomes a turnover. B3 immediately picks up the ball and plays it to B2, who then scores a goal in a counter-attack. As a result, the goal is valid and awarded to team B.

    Rate this question:

  • 30. 

    309. A6 is running a counter-attack and has a clear chance of scoring when the lights go out in the hall. Which of the following statements is/are correct?    

    • A) The referees wait for the result of the clear scoring chance.

    • B) The referees interrupt the match immediately and give a time-out.

    • C) After the lights are functioning again, the game is restarted with a free-throw for team A

    • D) As soon as the lights are functioning again, the game is restarted with a 7-meter throw for team A

    Correct Answer(s)
    A. B) The referees interrupt the match immediately and give a time-out.
    A. D) As soon as the lights are functioning again, the game is restarted with a 7-meter throw for team A
    Explanation
    In this situation, the correct statements are b) The referees interrupt the match immediately and give a time-out and d) As soon as the lights are functioning again, the game is restarted with a 7-meter throw for team A. When the lights go out during a clear scoring chance, the referees will interrupt the match immediately and give a time-out to ensure the safety of the players. After the lights are functioning again, the game is restarted with a 7-meter throw for team A as this is the appropriate action to take in such situations.

    Rate this question:

  • 31. 

    18.  Shortly before the beginning of the game A11 is severely injured in a way that he is unable to play. Correct decision?       

    • A) A11 cannot be replaced.

    • B) A11 can be replaced if the opponents accept this.

    • C) A11 can be replaced; his substitute can wear number 11 and must be entered in the match report.

    • D) A11 may be replaced, but his substitute cannot wear number 11.

    Correct Answer
    A. C) A11 can be replaced; his substitute can wear number 11 and must be entered in the match report.
    Explanation
    The correct decision is option c) A11 can be replaced; his substitute can wear number 11 and must be entered in the match report. This means that in the event of A11 being severely injured and unable to play, he can be substituted by another player who will wear the number 11 jersey. The substitution must be recorded in the match report to ensure that it is a valid change.

    Rate this question:

  • 32. 

    82.  A throw-in is awarded to team A. A8 directly executes a shot on goal. The ball hits the goalpost, bounces back to A8, who catches the ball to score. Correct decision?  

    • A) Goalkeeper-throw for B

    • B) Goal

    • C) Throw-in is retaken after whistle signal

    • D) Free-throw for B

    Correct Answer
    A. B) Goal
    Explanation
    The correct decision is b) Goal. According to the rules of soccer, a player is allowed to score directly from a throw-in as long as the ball is thrown in and then touches another player before entering the goal. In this scenario, A8 executes a shot on goal directly from the throw-in, the ball hits the goalpost, and then bounces back to A8 who catches it to score. Since the ball touched the goalpost and then another player (A8) before entering the goal, it is a valid goal.

    Rate this question:

  • 33. 

    126.  Team A executes a 7-meter throw and the ball enters the goal; but before the ball left the thrower's hand one of his teammates crossed the free-throw line. Correct decision?  

    • A) Goal

    • B) Repeat the throw

    • C) Free-throw for team B

    • D) Repeat the throw and warn the guilty player

    Correct Answer
    A. C) Free-throw for team B
    Explanation
    According to the rules, if a teammate crosses the free-throw line before the ball leaves the thrower's hand, it is considered an infringement. In this case, since a teammate crossed the line, the correct decision would be to award a free-throw to team B.

    Rate this question:

  • 34. 

    209. After an imprecise pass from A3 to A9, the ball rolls towards the side line near the substitution bench of team A. B10 is 1 meter away, ready to grab the ball, when A9 dives for the ball and hits it with his fist in the direction of the centre of the playing court, back to A3. Thereafter this movement causes A9 to slide over the side line and outside the court. What should be decided?    

    • A) Play continues.

    • B) Free-throw for B

    • C) Warning or 2-minute suspension for A9

    • D) Throw-in for B

    Correct Answer
    A. A) Play continues.
    Explanation
    In this situation, A9 has intentionally hit the ball back into play after it rolled towards the sideline. Although A9 slides over the sideline and goes outside the court, there is no violation or foul committed. Therefore, play should continue without any penalty or stoppage.

    Rate this question:

  • 35. 

    242. B8 already received a warning. During a team time-out he sits on the bench and comments on the referees in an unsportsmanlike manner. Correct decision?    

    • A) Disqualification of B8

    • B) 2-minute suspension for B8

    • C) Warning for B8

    • D) No action possible

    Correct Answer
    A. B) 2-minute suspension for B8
    Explanation
    Based on the information given, B8 has already received a warning. However, during a team time-out, B8 makes unsportsmanlike comments about the referees. Making unsportsmanlike comments is a violation of the rules and warrants a penalty. Therefore, the correct decision would be to give B8 a 2-minute suspension as a consequence for their unsportsmanlike behavior.

    Rate this question:

  • 36. 

    287. The two referees whistle after a collision between two players. The court referee shows offensive foul, but the goal-line referee indicates a violation by the defender. How should it be decided?    

    • A) The decision of the goal-line referee is valid.

    • B) The decision of the court referee is valid.

    • C) The referees contact each other to reach a joint decision.

    • D) Time-out is obligatory.

    • E) Time-out is necessary only if the joint decision goes against the attacking team.

    • f) Time-out is not obligatory if referees are using electronic equipment for their internal communication.

    Correct Answer(s)
    A. C) The referees contact each other to reach a joint decision.
    A. D) Time-out is obligatory.
    Explanation
    When there is a disagreement between the referees about a decision, they should contact each other to discuss and come to a joint decision. This ensures that the decision is fair and takes into account the perspectives of both referees. In this situation, a collision occurred between two players and the court referee called an offensive foul, while the goal-line referee indicated a violation by the defender. To resolve this disagreement, the referees should communicate with each other and reach a joint decision. Additionally, a time-out is obligatory in order to give the referees time to discuss and reach a resolution.

    Rate this question:

  • 37. 

    293. When does the match start?    

    • A) With the whistle signal of the ‘first-mentioned’ referee

    • B) When the ball leaves the hand of the thrower

    • C) When the timekeeper starts the stopwatch or the public clock starts running

    • D) With the whistle signal for the throw-off from the court referee

    Correct Answer
    A. D) With the whistle signal for the throw-off from the court referee
    Explanation
    The correct answer is d) With the whistle signal for the throw-off from the court referee. This means that the match starts when the court referee blows the whistle to signal the throw-off. This is the official start of the game where the ball is thrown into play and the teams can begin competing against each other.

    Rate this question:

  • 38. 

    315. A9 shoots on the goal of B. Goalkeeper B1 saves the shot, and the ball is rolling out towards the playing area where a player of team B is ready to pick up the ball. As the goalkeeper was injured when saving the shot, the referees interrupt the game while the ball is still in the goal area. Correct decision?    

    • A) Free-throw for A

    • B) Goalkeeper-throw for B

    • C) Free-throw for B

    Correct Answer
    A. B) Goalkeeper-throw for B
    Explanation
    The correct decision is to award a goalkeeper-throw for team B. In this situation, the ball was saved by goalkeeper B1 and was rolling out towards the playing area. However, the referees interrupted the game due to the injury of goalkeeper B1. According to the rules, when the game is interrupted while the ball is still in the goal area, a goalkeeper-throw is awarded to the defending team, which in this case is team B. Therefore, the correct decision is to give a goalkeeper-throw for team B.

    Rate this question:

  • 39. 

    65.  A7 is outside goal area of team B but grabs the ball that is clearly in the air above the goal area and scores a goal. Correct decision?  

    • A) Goal for A

    • B) Free-throw for B

    • C) Goalkeeper-throw for B

    • D) Goalkeeper-throw for B after whistle signal

    Correct Answer
    A. A) Goal for A
    Explanation
    In this scenario, A7 is outside the goal area of team B but manages to grab the ball that is clearly in the air above the goal area and scores a goal. The correct decision is that it should be a goal for A. This is because there is no rule stating that a player must be inside the goal area to score a goal. As long as the ball crosses the goal line and the goal is not scored in a manner that violates any other rules, it is considered a valid goal. Therefore, A7's goal should be counted.

    Rate this question:

  • 40. 

    203. The ball goes from a teammate back into the goal area where goalkeeper A1 jumps up and catches the ball in the air. The goalkeeper holds on the ball firmly and lands with one foot inside the goal area and one foot outside. Correct decision?    

    • A) Play continues.

    • B) Goalkeeper-throw for A

    • C) Free-throw for team B

    • D) 7-meter throw for team B

    Correct Answer
    A. C) Free-throw for team B
    Explanation
    The correct decision is c) Free-throw for team B. According to the rules, the goalkeeper is not allowed to touch the ball with both feet outside of the goal area. Since the goalkeeper landed with one foot outside the goal area, it is considered a violation and a free-throw is awarded to team B.

    Rate this question:

  • 41. 

    225. The goalkeeper stops the ball just in front of the goal-line. When he tries to pass the ball to a teammate, the ball falls out of his hand and into his own goal. Correct decision?    

    • A) Goal

    • B) Free-throw for the opponents

    • C) 7-meter throw for the opponents

    • D) Goalkeeper-throw

    Correct Answer
    A. D) Goalkeeper-throw
    Explanation
    The correct decision is a goalkeeper-throw because the ball falling out of the goalkeeper's hand and into his own goal is considered a goalkeeper error. In this situation, the opposing team is awarded a goalkeeper-throw, which means they gain possession of the ball and can continue play.

    Rate this question:

  • 42. 

    273. A4 touches the ball that is rolling on the floor in the goal area of team B. In the next moment he is pushed to the floor by B6.  Correct decision?    

    • A) Progressive punishment against B6

    • B) Free-throw for team A

    • C) Goalkeeper-throw for team B

    • D) Free-throw for team B

    Correct Answer(s)
    A. A) Progressive punishment against B6
    A. C) Goalkeeper-throw for team B
    Explanation
    The correct decision is a) Progressive punishment against B6 and c) Goalkeeper-throw for team B. A4 touches the ball while it is rolling on the floor in the goal area of team B, which means it is a goalkeeper-throw for team B. However, in the next moment, B6 pushes A4 to the floor, which is a foul and warrants a progressive punishment against B6.

    Rate this question:

  • 43. 

    319. Warning against B6. When whistling for the execution of the subsequent free- throw for A, the court referee does not see A11 who is between the goal-area line and the free-throw line. A11 receives the ball and has a clear scoring chance. The goal-line referee has observed the problem. Correct decision?    

    • A) Play on

    • B) Repeat the free-throw after correction and whistle signal

    • C) The goal-line referee decides a free-throw against team A.

    • D) The goal-line referee gives A11 a warning.

    • E) Time-out

    Correct Answer
    A. B) Repeat the free-throw after correction and whistle signal
    Explanation
    The correct decision is to repeat the free-throw after correction and whistle signal. This is because A11 was positioned between the goal-area line and the free-throw line, which is not allowed. The goal-line referee observed this problem, indicating that there was a violation. Therefore, the free-throw needs to be repeated correctly, with the whistle signal, to ensure fair play.

    Rate this question:

  • 44. 

    57. The ball is rolling in the goal area of team A.  B8 picks the ball up and scores a goal.  Correct decision?      

    • A) Free-throw for A

    • B) Goalkeeper-throw for A

    • C) Goal

    • D) Throw-off

    Correct Answer
    A. B) Goalkeeper-throw for A
    Explanation
    In this scenario, B8, who is a player from team B, picks up the ball in the goal area of team A and scores a goal. According to the rules, only the goalkeeper is allowed to touch the ball with their hands inside the goal area. Since B8 is not the goalkeeper, the correct decision would be a goalkeeper-throw for team A.

    Rate this question:

  • 45. 

    193. A14 wants to execute a free-throw (without a whistle signal) and is (like his teammates) standing in a correct position.  Before the ball has left the hand of A14, A13 and A15 run across the free-throw line towards the goal-area line. Correct decision?    

    • A) Correction

    • B) Free-throw for A after whistle signal

    • C) Play continues.

    • D) Free-throw for B

    Correct Answer(s)
    A. A) Correction
    A. B) Free-throw for A after whistle signal
    Explanation
    Before the ball has left the hand of A14, A13 and A15 running across the free-throw line towards the goal-area line is a violation of the rules. According to the rules, all players must maintain their positions until the ball has been released during a free-throw. Therefore, the correct decision would be to call a correction and enforce the free-throw for A after a whistle signal.

    Rate this question:

  • 46. 

    205. A9 shoots on goal. Goalkeeper B catches the ball. In this moment the timekeeper whistles to end the game. The referees point out to the timekeeper that there is 30 seconds left of the 2nd half. All the players have remained on the court. How should the game be restarted?    

    • A) Free-throw for B

    • B) Goalkeeper-throw for B

    • C) Free-throw for A

    • D) Whistle signal required

    Correct Answer(s)
    A. B) Goalkeeper-throw for B
    A. D) Whistle signal required
    Explanation
    The game should be restarted with a goalkeeper-throw for B because the goalkeeper caught the ball before the timekeeper whistled to end the game. Additionally, a whistle signal is required to indicate the restart of the game.

    Rate this question:

  • 47. 

    247. The whistle signal ending the first half has come 1 minute too soon. At the time of the whistle signal, neither of the teams was in possession of the ball and there was no rules violation. (The ball was on the floor in the playing area.) Both teams are still on the court. Correct decision?    

    • A) The 1 minute is not played.

    • B) The 1 minute is played before the half-time break.

    • C) The 1 minute is played after the intermission, before the start of the second half.

    • D) The 1 minute is added to the second half.

    • E) It is decided through a coin toss which team gets the ball when the 1 minute is played

    • F) The team that was last in possession of the ball gets the ball when the game starts again

    Correct Answer(s)
    A. B) The 1 minute is played before the half-time break.
    A. F) The team that was last in possession of the ball gets the ball when the game starts again
    Explanation
    In this situation, the whistle signal ending the first half came 1 minute too soon. Since neither of the teams was in possession of the ball and there was no rules violation, the correct decision would be to play the remaining 1 minute before the half-time break. This ensures that both teams have an equal opportunity to play the full duration of the first half. Additionally, when the game starts again after the half-time break, the team that was last in possession of the ball should get the ball to maintain fairness.

    Rate this question:

  • 48. 

    279. An official of team A has already received a warning for protests. Later on, an official from team A enters the court without permission but he does not behave in an unsportsmanlike manner. Correct decision?    

    • A) Warning

    • B) 2-minute suspension for the team official; he must leave the bench for 2 minutes

    • C) Disqualification

    • D) 2-minute suspension for the team official; the team is reduced on the court for 2 minutes.

    Correct Answer
    A. D) 2-minute suspension for the team official; the team is reduced on the court for 2 minutes.
    Explanation
    The correct decision is to give a 2-minute suspension to the team official and reduce the team on the court for 2 minutes. This is because the official from team A entered the court without permission, which is a violation of the rules. Although the official did not behave in an unsportsmanlike manner, they still need to face consequences for their actions. The 2-minute suspension and reduction of the team on the court is a fair penalty in this situation.

    Rate this question:

  • 49. 

    145. During a counter-attack B9 has his shirt pulled by A4, who has already received a warning. In spite of this, B9 manages to play the ball to B8, who scores a goal. The referee wants to penalize A4 afterwards but by then he is already sitting on the substitution bench. Correct decision?    

    • A) 2-minute suspension for A4; the team must be reduced on the court

    • B) A4 may not play for the next 2 minutes (but the team remains complete on the court)

    • C) Punishment no longer possible

    • D) Disqualification of A4, the team is reduced by one player for 2 minutes

    Correct Answer
    A. A) 2-minute suspension for A4; the team must be reduced on the court
    Explanation
    A4 committed a foul by pulling B9's shirt, which is a punishable offense. Since A4 has already received a warning, the referee can give a 2-minute suspension for this foul. Additionally, the team must be reduced on the court, meaning that they will have to play with one less player for the duration of the suspension. This is the correct decision because it enforces the rules and penalizes the player for their actions.

    Rate this question:

Quiz Review Timeline (Updated): May 15, 2024 +

Our quizzes are rigorously reviewed, monitored and continuously updated by our expert board to maintain accuracy, relevance, and timeliness.

  • Current Version
  • May 15, 2024
    Quiz Edited by
    ProProfs Editorial Team
  • Feb 17, 2013
    Quiz Created by
    Jedermann
Back to Top Back to top
Advertisement
×

Wait!
Here's an interesting quiz for you.

We have other quizzes matching your interest.