CFOA 2010 Study Guide Online

Reviewed by Editorial Team
The ProProfs editorial team is comprised of experienced subject matter experts. They've collectively created over 10,000 quizzes and lessons, serving over 100 million users. Our team includes in-house content moderators and subject matter experts, as well as a global network of rigorously trained contributors. All adhere to our comprehensive editorial guidelines, ensuring the delivery of high-quality content.
Learn about Our Editorial Process
| By Theory99
T
Theory99
Community Contributor
Quizzes Created: 2 | Total Attempts: 263
| Attempts: 117
SettingsSettings
Please wait...
  • 1/225 Questions

    When an airborne player makes a catch, forward progress is the furthest point of advancement after he possesses the ball if contacted by a defender.

    • True.
    • False.
Please wait...
About This Quiz


Assumptions• Unless noted, all passes are legal forward passes and all kicks are legal. • Unless noted, plays do not involve the last timed down of a period. • Unless noted, all kicks are untouched beyond the neutral zone or beyond the free-kick line. • Unless noted, all penalties are accepted. • Unless noted, all fouls are live-ball player fouls. • Unless noted, plays do not result in a score.

CFOA 2010 Study Guide Online - Quiz

Quiz Preview

  • 2. 

    K1’s punt is rolling beyond the neutral zone when it bounces off R2’s leg. That is considered touching by R2.

    • True.

    • False.

    Correct Answer
    A. True.
    Explanation
    The explanation for the correct answer is that according to the rules of football, if a punt crosses the neutral zone and then touches a player from the receiving team, it is considered a live ball and can be recovered by either team. In this scenario, since the punt touched R2's leg beyond the neutral zone, it is considered touching by R2 and therefore the answer is true.

    Rate this question:

  • 3. 

    Team A attempts a try with 7:23 to play in the first quarter. A1’s legal forward pass is caught by A2 in the end zone. B3 is flagged for roughing the passer.

    • Team A may have the penalty enforced on the succeeding kickoff.

    • The penalty is automatically declined.

    Correct Answer
    A. Team A may have the penalty enforced on the succeeding kickoff.
    Explanation
    Team A may have the penalty enforced on the succeeding kickoff because the roughing the passer penalty occurred after the touchdown was scored. In this situation, the penalty is assessed on the kickoff instead of being enforced on the extra point attempt or the succeeding play. The penalty is automatically declined because the touchdown was already scored, so there is no need to enforce the penalty on the play.

    Rate this question:

  • 4. 

    K1’s punt is in flight when it strikes an official who is standing two yards deep in team R’s end zone. The ball caroms off the official, hits the ground on team R’s two yardline and rolls to team R’s five yardline, where R2 recovers it and advances.

    • The ball should be declared dead when it breaks the plane of team R’s goalline.

    • The ball remains live.

    Correct Answer
    A. The ball should be declared dead when it breaks the plane of team R’s goalline.
    Explanation
    When a punt is in flight and strikes an official, the ball is considered dead. In this scenario, the punt strikes an official and then hits the ground on team R's two-yard line. According to the rules, when the ball breaks the plane of team R's goalline, it should be declared dead. Therefore, the correct answer is that the ball should be declared dead when it breaks the plane of team R's goalline.

    Rate this question:

  • 5. 

    Third and six on team A’s 20 yardline. B12 is the 12th team B player on the field as A1 throws a legal forward pass that is caught by A2. After advancing A2 is downed at team B’s 30 yardline.

    • Team B is guilty of illegal participation.

    • Team B is guilty of illegal substitution.

    Correct Answer
    A. Team B is guilty of illegal participation.
    Explanation
    In football, illegal participation refers to a situation where a player who is not eligible to participate in the game enters the field and becomes involved in the play. In this scenario, B12, who is the 12th player on team B, is not supposed to be on the field during the play. Therefore, team B is guilty of illegal participation. Illegal substitution, on the other hand, refers to the act of replacing a player on the field without following the proper rules and procedures, which is not the case in this scenario.

    Rate this question:

  • 6. 

    A1 is in possession of the ball beyond the line of scrimmage when B2 grabs the inside back collar of A1’s shoulder pads or jersey and immediately pulls him toward the ground. Before A1 falls to the ground, he fumbles and B3 recovers.

    • No problem.

    • Foul on B2.

    Correct Answer
    A. Foul on B2.
    Explanation
    B2 committed a foul by grabbing the inside back collar of A1's shoulder pads or jersey and pulling him towards the ground. This action is considered illegal and results in a penalty. As a result of the foul, A1 fumbled the ball and B3 recovered it. Therefore, the correct answer is that there was a foul on B2.

    Rate this question:

  • 7. 

    Second and 10 for team A from team B’s 37 yardline. A1’s legal forward pass is intercepted by B2 at his own three yardline. B2’s momentum takes him into his own end zone. An official blows an inadvertent whistle.

    • Team A scores a safety.

    • Team B is awarded a touchback.

    • The momentum exception applies; team B will likely choose to begin a new series at its own three yardline.

    • B2 should ignore the whistle and continue playing.

    Correct Answer
    A. The momentum exception applies; team B will likely choose to begin a new series at its own three yardline.
    Explanation
    In this scenario, the correct answer is that the momentum exception applies and team B will likely choose to begin a new series at its own three-yard line. This is because B2 intercepted the pass and his momentum took him into his own end zone. However, an inadvertent whistle was blown, which means that the play should be considered dead at the moment of the whistle. According to the momentum exception, if a player's momentum carries them into their own end zone after gaining possession of the ball, the opposing team is given the option to start a new series at the spot where the player gained possession. Therefore, team B will likely choose to start at their own three-yard line.

    Rate this question:

  • 8. 

    K1’s free kick is muffed by R2 at team R’s 35 yardline. K3 attempts to recover the loose ball but causes it to go out of bounds at team R’s 30 yardline.

    • That’s a foul; team K has caused the kick to go out of bounds.

    • That’s not a foul.

    Correct Answer
    A. That’s not a foul.
    Explanation
    In this scenario, K1's free kick is muffed by R2, which means that R2 failed to properly catch or control the ball. K3 then attempts to recover the loose ball but unintentionally causes it to go out of bounds. Since K3 is a member of the kicking team, their action does not result in a penalty or foul. It is not considered a foul because the ball going out of bounds was a result of K3's unsuccessful attempt to recover the ball, rather than any intentional or illegal action.

    Rate this question:

  • 9. 

    A forward pass ends when:

    • It is caught.

    • Hits the ground.

    • Goes out of bounds.

    • All of the above.

    • Only a. and b.

    Correct Answer
    A. All of the above.
    Explanation
    A forward pass can end in multiple ways. It can end when it is caught by a player, when it hits the ground, or when it goes out of bounds. Therefore, the correct answer is "All of the above" because all of these options can signify the end of a forward pass.

    Rate this question:

  • 10. 

    R1 catches K2’s free kick at his own 18 yardline. During R1’s advance K3 attempts to break up the wedge of blockers ahead of R1 by throwing his body at the knees of R4 and R5.

    • Legal play.

    • K3 should be flagged for blocking below the waist.

    Correct Answer
    A. K3 should be flagged for blocking below the waist.
    Explanation
    K3 should be flagged for blocking below the waist because according to the rules of the game, it is illegal to block an opponent below the waist. In this scenario, K3 attempted to break up the wedge of blockers by throwing his body at the knees of R4 and R5, which is a clear violation of the rules. Blocking below the waist is considered dangerous and can cause serious injuries, so it is penalized to ensure the safety of the players.

    Rate this question:

  • 11. 

    A1 and B2 are airborne and grab a legal forward pass thrown by A3. B2 touches the ground first followed by A1. Both players land inbounds.

    • It’s a simultaneous catch; it’s team A’s ball.

    • It’s a simultaneous catch; it’s team B’s ball.

    • It’s not a simultaneous catch.

    Correct Answer
    A. It’s a simultaneous catch; it’s team A’s ball.
    Explanation
    In this scenario, both A1 and B2 catch the forward pass simultaneously and land inbounds. According to the rules, in the case of a simultaneous catch, the offense is awarded possession of the ball. Therefore, it is team A's ball.

    Rate this question:

  • 12. 

    Tackle A1 retreats to block for a pass play and is engaged with defensive end B2. Blitzing linebacker B3 is heading unabated toward quarterback A4 when A1 extends his leg, which contacts B3’s leg and causes B3 to fall.

    • Legal play.

    • A1 is guilty of holding.

    • A1 is guilty of tripping.

    • A1 is guilty of a personal foul.

    Correct Answer
    A. A1 is guilty of tripping.
    Explanation
    A1 is guilty of tripping because he extended his leg and made contact with B3's leg, causing B3 to fall. Tripping is a violation in football and is considered a foul.

    Rate this question:

  • 13. 

    Fourth and goal for team A at team B’s three yardline. Quarterback A1 keeps the ball and is at team B’s one yardline when he is hit by B2. The ball pops into the air and is caught by A3 at team B’s four yardline. A3 advances into team B’s end zone.

    • The ball is dead when A3 catches it.

    • Legal play; touchdown for team A.

    • It will be team B’s ball first and 10 from its own four yardline.

    • It will be team B’s ball first and 10 from its own one yardline.

    Correct Answer
    A. Legal play; touchdown for team A.
    Explanation
    According to the given scenario, the ball is considered dead when A3 catches it. Therefore, the play is legal and it results in a touchdown for team A.

    Rate this question:

  • 14. 

    After the ball is dead, B1 throws a punch at A2. A2 is able to avoid the punch.

    • No problem.

    • B1 is penalized and disqualified.

    • B1 is penalized but not disqualified.

    Correct Answer
    A. B1 is penalized and disqualified.
    Explanation
    B1 is penalized and disqualified because throwing a punch at an opposing player is a violation of the rules and considered unsportsmanlike conduct. As a result, B1 is not only penalized but also disqualified from the game as a disciplinary action.

    Rate this question:

  • 15. 

    Team A trails 7-6 with the clock running and 48 seconds remaining in the quarter. Team A has the ball at team B’s 11 yardline. A1’s run for no gain leaves team A with second and 10 from team B’s 11 yardline. Team A does not huddle and sets in a formation immediately. All team A players are set and the ball is legally snapped following the ready signal.

    • Team A should be flagged for unsportsmanlike conduct.

    • Team A should be flagged for a false start.

    • Team A must allow team B to substitute.

    • Legal only if it’s the second or fourth quarter and team A is obviously in a hurry-up offense.

    • Legal under any circumstance.

    Correct Answer
    A. Legal under any circumstance.
    Explanation
    The situation described in the question does not indicate any violation of the rules. Team A is allowed to quickly set up and snap the ball without huddling, as long as they do so following the ready signal. There is no mention of any false start or unsportsmanlike conduct, and there is no requirement for Team A to allow Team B to substitute. Therefore, the action described is legal under any circumstance.

    Rate this question:

  • 16. 

    Fourth and three for team A from its own 27 yardline. From behind the line of scrimmage, A1 pitches the ball backward toward A2. The pitch bounces off A2’s chest, but is caught by A3, who advances and is downed at team A’s 33 yardline.

    • Legal play under all circumstances.

    • The ball should be blown dead when A3 recovers it.

    Correct Answer
    A. Legal play under all circumstances.
    Explanation
    The play is legal because the pitch from A1 to A2 is considered a backward pass, which means that the ball is still live after it bounces off A2's chest. A3 is allowed to recover the ball and advance it, resulting in a legal play. The play continues until A3 is downed at team A's 33 yardline.

    Rate this question:

  • 17. 

    Just after K1’s punt is airborne and untouched by team R, K2 blocks R3. The contact causes R3 to knock the punter to the ground.

    • No problem.

    • R3 has fouled if K2’s block was legal.

    • R3 has fouled if K2’s block was illegal.

    • R3 has fouled under any circumstances.

    Correct Answer
    A. No problem.
    Explanation
    The correct answer is "No problem." In this scenario, R3 has not committed a foul because the contact with the punter was caused by K2's legal block. Therefore, there is no penalty or issue with the play.

    Rate this question:

  • 18. 

    Spearing:

    • Results in an automatic disqualification.

    • Involves any part of the helmet.

    • Involves the top of the helmet.

    • Can only be called against a defensive player.

    Correct Answer
    A. Involves the top of the helmet.
    Explanation
    Spearing is a penalty in football that occurs when a player uses the top of their helmet to initiate contact with another player. This action is deemed dangerous and can result in serious injury, so it is considered an automatic disqualification. It is important to note that spearing can only be called against a defensive player, as offensive players are not allowed to initiate contact with the crown of their helmet.

    Rate this question:

  • 19. 

    The clock is running with 11 seconds to play in the fourth quarter. Team A is out of timeouts but quarterback A1 runs up to the referee and requests a timeout.

    • The request is granted but team A will be penalized five yards for delay of the game.

    • The request is granted but team A will be penalized 15 yards for unsportsmanlike conduct.

    • The request is denied.

    Correct Answer
    A. The request is denied.
    Explanation
    The clock is running with only 11 seconds left in the fourth quarter, and Team A is out of timeouts. In this situation, the quarterback's request for a timeout should be denied because the team has already used up all their timeouts. The referee cannot grant a timeout in this case, and the game will continue without any stoppage.

    Rate this question:

  • 20. 

    First and goal for team A on team B’s six yardline. A1 has both feet inbounds when he dives toward the goalie. The tip of the ball touches the front part of the pylon which is properly placed.

    • That’s a touchdown.

    • That’s a touchback.

    • The ball will be placed inches short of the goaline for second down.

    Correct Answer
    A. That’s a touchdown.
    Explanation
    The correct answer is "That's a touchdown." In football, a touchdown is scored when a player carries the ball across the opponent's goal line or catches a pass in the end zone. In this scenario, A1 has both feet inbounds and the tip of the ball touches the front part of the pylon, which is properly placed. This indicates that A1 has successfully crossed the goal line and scored a touchdown.

    Rate this question:

  • 21. 

    With 37 seconds to play in the fourth quarter team K’s attempted onside free kick travels eight yards when K1 catches the ball on the fly.

    • Legal play; it’s team K’s ball.

    • K1’s catch is a foul only if a team R player was in position to catch the kick.

    • K1’s catch is a foul regardless if a team R player was in position to catch the kick.

    Correct Answer
    A. K1’s catch is a foul regardless if a team R player was in position to catch the kick.
    Explanation
    In football, an onside free kick must travel at least ten yards before the kicking team can legally recover the ball. In this scenario, the onside free kick only travels eight yards before K1 catches it. Regardless of whether or not a team R player was in position to catch the kick, K1's catch is considered a foul because the ball did not travel the required distance. Therefore, it is not a legal play and it remains team R's ball.

    Rate this question:

  • 22. 

    First and 10 for team A from its own 20 yardline. Runner A1 is tripped attempting to break through the line and falls onto the back of a fallen player at team A’s 23 yardline. A1 is only on the player’s back for a split second before he regains his feet and advances to team A’s 33 yardline.

    • If the player A1 fell on was a teammate the ball is dead at team A’s 23 yardline.

    • If the player A1 fell on was an opponent the ball is dead at team A’s 23 yardline.

    • The ball remains live regardless of whether the player A1 fell on was a teammate or opponent.

    Correct Answer
    A. The ball remains live regardless of whether the player A1 fell on was a teammate or opponent.
    Explanation
    In this scenario, the ball remains live regardless of whether the player A1 fell on was a teammate or opponent. This means that the play is still ongoing and the team A can continue to advance the ball. The fact that A1 briefly fell onto the back of a fallen player does not result in the play being dead.

    Rate this question:

  • 23. 

    The game clock is running with 37 seconds left in the fourth quarter and team A trailing, 7-0. The umpire believes B1 is injured and the officials stop the clock.

    • The game clock restarts on the snap.

    • The game clock restarts on the ready.

    Correct Answer
    A. The game clock restarts on the ready.
    Explanation
    In football, the game clock is typically stopped when there is an injury on the field. In this scenario, the umpire believes that player B1 is injured, so the officials stop the clock. When the game clock restarts, it will restart on the ready. This means that once the ball is set and the offense is ready to begin the next play, the game clock will start again. This is the correct answer because the game clock does not restart on the snap, which is when the ball is snapped to start the play.

    Rate this question:

  • 24. 

    It is strongly recommended that each official shouldblow his whistle at the end of a play.

    • True.

    • False.

    Correct Answer
    A. False.
    Explanation
    The statement is false because using gender-specific language ("his whistle") excludes individuals who do not identify as male. It is more inclusive and respectful to use gender-neutral language, such as "their whistle" or "the whistle." This promotes equality and ensures that everyone feels included in the statement.

    Rate this question:

  • 25. 

    A1’s legal forward pass over the middle is trapped byA2. The umpire has a clear view of the play.

    • The umpire cannot make a call; that’s the wing official’s call.

    • The umpire should use a secret signal to let the wing official know what he saw; the wing official then signals.

    • If the umpire clearly sees the trap, he must not hesitate to signal incomplete.

    Correct Answer
    A. If the umpire clearly sees the trap, he must not hesitate to signal incomplete.
    Explanation
    The correct answer is that if the umpire clearly sees the trap, he must not hesitate to signal incomplete. This means that if the umpire has a clear view of the play and sees that the ball was trapped by A2, he should immediately signal that the pass was incomplete. The umpire should not rely on the wing official to make the call in this situation.

    Rate this question:

  • 26. 

    Third and 12 on team A’s 26 yardline is an example of:

    • Double stakes.

    • Goal to go.

    • Cross field mechanics.

    Correct Answer
    A. Double stakes.
    Explanation
    Third and 12 on team A's 26 yardline is an example of "Double stakes" because it refers to the situation where a team is facing a third down with 12 yards to go for a first down, and the line of scrimmage is on the team A's 26 yardline. "Double stakes" is a term used in football to indicate a critical situation where the offense needs to gain significant yardage to keep possession of the ball and avoid a turnover.

    Rate this question:

  • 27. 

    Fourth and 10 from team K’s 20 yardline. K1’s punt is blocked. The ball, which never crossed the neutral zone, rolls to team K’s 10 yardline. K3 recovers the ball and punts it again from his own 10 yardline.

    • The ball is dead when K3 recovers it.

    • The ball remains live when K3 recovers it.

    Correct Answer
    A. The ball remains live when K3 recovers it.
    Explanation
    The ball remains live when K3 recovers it because it never crossed the neutral zone before being recovered. In football, the neutral zone is the area between the two teams' lines of scrimmage. If the ball had crossed the neutral zone, it would be considered dead and the play would be over. However, since the ball never crossed the neutral zone, it is still considered live and K3 is allowed to punt it again.

    Rate this question:

  • 28. 

    A fumble:

    • Is the same as a muff.

    • May be recovered and advanced by any player at any time.

    • Occurs when a player loses possession of a live ball other than by handing, passing or legal kick.

    Correct Answer
    A. Occurs when a player loses possession of a live ball other than by handing, passing or legal kick.
    Explanation
    A fumble occurs when a player loses possession of a live ball, but not by handing, passing, or making a legal kick. It is different from a muff, and any player can recover and advance the fumbled ball.

    Rate this question:

  • 29. 

    Team A’s ball first and goal at team B’s six yardline. Runner A1 advances to team B’s three yardline. Tackle A2 turns so his back is to team B’s goalline, grabs A1 by the jersey and pulls him toward team B’s goalline. A1 falls over the goalline.

    • No problem; touchdown for team A.

    • A2 is guilty of illegal use of hands, a 10-yard penalty.

    • A2 is guilty of helping the runner, a five-yard penalty.

    • A2 is guilty of unsportsmanlike conduct, a 15-yard penalty.

    Correct Answer
    A. A2 is guilty of helping the runner, a five-yard penalty.
    Explanation
    A2 is guilty of helping the runner, a five-yard penalty. In football, it is illegal for a player to assist a runner by pulling or pushing them towards the goal line. A2's action of grabbing A1's jersey and pulling him towards the goal line violates this rule, resulting in a penalty. The penalty is five yards, which means that Team A's ball will be moved back five yards from the spot of the foul.

    Rate this question:

  • 30. 

    First and 10 for team A from its 20 yardline. Runner A1 is near the sideline at team A’s 25 yardline when he is met by several team B players. A1 is driven backward and out of bounds.

    • The clock should be stopped.

    • The clock should continue running.

    Correct Answer
    A. The clock should continue running.
    Explanation
    The clock should continue running because the runner was driven out of bounds. When a player is forced out of bounds, the clock stops only in the last two minutes of each half. Since this scenario does not specify that it is within the last two minutes, the clock should continue running.

    Rate this question:

  • 31. 

    Third and 10 on team A’s 20 yardline. A1 drops back to pass and throws a forward pass to ineligible A2, who muffs the ball at team A’s 15 yardline. The pass falls incomplete.

    • No problem.

    • Illegal touching.

    • Illegal forward pass.

    Correct Answer
    A. Illegal touching.
    Explanation
    In this scenario, A1, the quarterback of team A, throws a forward pass to ineligible A2. However, A2 muffs the ball at team A's 15 yardline, resulting in an incomplete pass. The correct answer is "Illegal touching" because A2 is an ineligible receiver, meaning he is not allowed to touch or catch a forward pass. This violation leads to a penalty against team A.

    Rate this question:

  • 32. 

    R1 gives a valid fair-catch signal at his 35 yardline. The ball bounces off his shoulder pad and is still in flight behind him.

    • By muffing the ball R1 no longer has protection from contact.

    • R1 only has protection if the covering official rules he has a reasonable chance to catch the ball.

    • R1 only has protection if the covering official rules he has a reasonable chance to recover the ball.

    Correct Answer
    A. By muffing the ball R1 no longer has protection from contact.
    Explanation
    When R1 muffs the ball, it means that he fails to catch it cleanly and it bounces off his shoulder pad. As a result, he loses the protection from contact that he would have had if he had caught the ball cleanly. The protection from contact is only given to the receiver if the covering official determines that he had a reasonable chance to catch or recover the ball. Since R1 muffed the ball, he no longer has that protection.

    Rate this question:

  • 33. 

    Team A, trailing by five points and out of timeouts, has the ball first and goal on team B’s 20 yardline. A2 catches a pass and is tackled inbounds on team B’s one yardline. During the down A2 was flagged for pass interference and the penalty is declined. The referee properly starts the clock on the ready signal.

    • If the clock expires before team A can snap the ball the period is extended for an untimed down.

    • If the clock expires before team A can snap the ball the game is over.

    Correct Answer
    A. If the clock expires before team A can snap the ball the game is over.
    Explanation
    If the clock expires before team A can snap the ball, it means that time has run out for the period. In this scenario, team A was trailing by five points and out of timeouts, so they were unable to stop the clock. The fact that the penalty for pass interference was declined does not affect the timing of the game. Therefore, if the clock expires before team A can snap the ball, it means that the game is over.

    Rate this question:

  • 34. 

    Third and five on team A’s 35 yardline. A1 drops back to his 30 yardline but is unable to find an open receiver. As B2 applies pressure, A1 throws the ball to an area in which there are no eligible receivers. After the ball is thrown, B2 knocks A1 to the ground. The referee believes B2 could have avoided the contact.

    • Only A1’s foul is enforced.

    • Only B2’s foul is enforced.

    • The fouls offset.

    Correct Answer
    A. The fouls offset.
    Explanation
    The correct answer is that the fouls offset. This means that both A1 and B2 committed fouls, and therefore, the penalties for both fouls will be enforced. A1 threw the ball to an area with no eligible receivers, which is an intentional grounding penalty. B2 knocked A1 to the ground after the ball was thrown, which is a roughing the passer penalty. Since both players committed fouls on the same play, the penalties will offset each other and no yardage will be gained or lost.

    Rate this question:

  • 35. 

    Team A breaks its huddle and realizes it has only 10 players on the field. A11 steps off the sideline and onto the field. All team A players are motionless for at least one second before the snap.

    • Legal under any circumstances.

    • Foul under any circumstances.

    • Legal if A11 is positioned inside the numbers at some point before the snap and the officials do not believe A11 deceived team B.

    Correct Answer
    A. Legal if A11 is positioned inside the numbers at some point before the snap and the officials do not believe A11 deceived team B.
    Explanation
    If A11 is positioned inside the numbers at some point before the snap and the officials do not believe A11 deceived team B, then it is legal for A11 to step off the sideline and onto the field. This means that as long as A11 is within the designated area of the field and there is no intention to deceive the opposing team, the action is allowed.

    Rate this question:

  • 36. 

    Second and 20 for team A at its own 20 yardline. Cornerback B1 is flagged for illegal use of hands by obstructing eligible receiver A2. A3’s pass to A2 is complete. A2 is downed at team A’s 27 yardline. If accepted the penalty:

    • Is enforced from the end of the run.

    • Is enforced from the previous spot.

    Correct Answer
    A. Is enforced from the previous spot.
    Explanation
    The penalty for illegal use of hands is enforced from the previous spot, which means that the penalty will be marked off from where the ball was originally snapped. In this scenario, the penalty occurred after the pass was completed to A2, so the penalty will be enforced from the previous spot (the 20 yardline). This will result in a loss of yardage for Team A and a new down.

    Rate this question:

  • 37. 

    R1 is in position to catch a punt. While the kick is in the air R1 uses his left hand in an obvious attempt to shade his eyes. After lowering his left hand he extends his right hand above his head and laterally waves it twice. R1 then makes the catch.

    • Shading the eyes constitutes an invalid fair catch signal.

    • Shading the eyes constitutes a valid fair catch signal.

    • Shading the eyes is legal.

    Correct Answer
    A. Shading the eyes is legal.
  • 38. 

    Team A is flagged for illegal forward handing. The penalty includes loss of down.

    • True.

    • False.

    Correct Answer
    A. True.
    Explanation
    The statement is true because if a team is flagged for illegal forward handing, they will receive a penalty which includes loss of down. This means that the team will not only lose the yards gained on the play but will also lose the opportunity to continue their offensive possession.

    Rate this question:

  • 39. 

    An official tries to throw his flag at the spot of a foul but the flag falls several feet short. After the ball is dead, the official should:

    • Leave the flag where it is.

    • Pick up the flag and move it to the proper spot.

    • As unobtrusively as possible, use a foot to move it to the proper spot.

    Correct Answer
    A. Pick up the flag and move it to the proper spot.
    Explanation
    After the ball is dead, the official should pick up the flag and move it to the proper spot. This is because the flag fell short of the spot of the foul, and it is the official's responsibility to ensure that the flag is correctly placed. Leaving the flag where it is would not accurately indicate the spot of the foul, and using a foot to move it would be unprofessional and potentially misleading. Therefore, picking up the flag and moving it to the proper spot is the appropriate course of action.

    Rate this question:

  • 40. 

    When conducting the coin toss, the referee should:

    • Face the scoreboard.

    • Have his back to the scoreboard.

    • Always have the home team’s captains on his left.

    • Always have the home team’s captains on his right.

    Correct Answer
    A. Face the scoreboard.
    Explanation
    When conducting the coin toss, the referee should face the scoreboard. This is because facing the scoreboard allows for better visibility and communication with the officials and players on the field. It also ensures that the referee can easily see and interpret any signals or instructions displayed on the scoreboard during the game. Having his back to the scoreboard would limit his ability to effectively communicate and make decisions based on the information displayed on the scoreboard. Additionally, the position of the home team's captains on the referee's left or right is not relevant to facing the scoreboard.

    Rate this question:

  • 41. 

    When the optional hot weather uniform is worn, theofficials should wear the same one-piece northwesternstyle tube socks as they would with knickers.

    • True.

    • False.

    Correct Answer
    A. False.
    Explanation
    The statement is false because it states that officials should wear the same one-piece northwestern style tube socks with the optional hot weather uniform as they would with knickers. However, this contradicts the information given in the question, which states that the optional hot weather uniform is worn. Therefore, officials should not wear the same socks as they would with knickers when wearing the optional hot weather uniform.

    Rate this question:

  • 42. 

    When there is a fumble or a muff and no possessioncan be determined due to the pile of players, the refereeshould stop the clock until possession is determined.

    • True.

    • False.

    Correct Answer
    A. True.
    Explanation
    When there is a fumble or a muff and no possession can be determined due to the pile of players, the referee should stop the clock until possession is determined. This is true because in such situations, it is important to accurately determine possession before continuing the game. Stopping the clock allows the officials to properly assess the situation and make the correct call, ensuring fairness and accuracy in the game.

    Rate this question:

  • 43. 

    First and goal from team B’s seven yardline. A1 carries the ball beyond team B’s goalline. The umpire sees the entire play and knows a touchdown has been scored. It’s OK for the umpire to signal touchdown.

    • True.

    • False.

    Correct Answer
    A. False.
    Explanation
    The correct answer is False because according to the rules of football, only the referee has the authority to signal a touchdown. The umpire's role is to assist the referee and focus on specific aspects of the game, such as monitoring the offensive and defensive lines. Therefore, it is not okay for the umpire to signal a touchdown in this situation.

    Rate this question:

  • 44. 

    First and 10 for team A at its own 20 yardline. Quarterback A1 keeps the ball and is tackled by B5 at team A’s 35 yardline. In trying to fend off the tackle A1 grasps but does not pull or twist B5’s facemask.

    • Legal play.

    • Facemask foul; team A is penalized 15 yards.

    • Facemask foul; team A is penalized five yards.

    • Facemask foul; team A is penalized five yards and loss of down.

    Correct Answer
    A. Facemask foul; team A is penalized five yards.
    Explanation
    In this scenario, Quarterback A1 grasps but does not pull or twist B5's facemask. According to the rules, any contact with an opponent's facemask is considered a facemask foul. However, since A1 did not pull or twist the facemask, the penalty is only five yards. Therefore, the correct answer is "Facemask foul; team A is penalized five yards."

    Rate this question:

  • 45. 

    Team A is granted a charged team timeout. After 20 seconds of the timeout have expired both teams are ready to resume play.

    • The game may resume.

    • Because team A called the timeout the game resumes whether team B is ready or not.

    • The game cannot resume until the full amount of the timeout has expired.

    Correct Answer
    A. The game may resume.
    Explanation
    The correct answer is "The game may resume." This is because the question states that both teams are ready to resume play after 20 seconds of the timeout have expired. It does not specify that the full amount of the timeout needs to expire before the game can resume. Therefore, the game can continue even if the full timeout duration has not passed.

    Rate this question:

  • 46. 

    Fourth and two at team B’s 28 yardline. Quarterback A1 takes the snap and fakes a handoff to A2, then hands the ball to A3. A2 bends forward at the waist and pretends he has the ball. A2 is hit at team B’s 31 yardline, where the impact causes the helmet to come completely off of A2’s head.

    • The ball is dead the second A2’s helmet comes off.

    • The ball remains live when A2’s helmet comes off.

    Correct Answer
    A. The ball remains live when A2’s helmet comes off.
    Explanation
    When A2's helmet comes off, it does not automatically make the ball dead. The ball remains live because the play is still ongoing and the ball carrier, A3, has not been tackled or forced out of bounds. The helmet coming off does not affect the status of the play or the live ball.

    Rate this question:

  • 47. 

    A1, approaching team B’s goalline and near the sideline, dives toward the end zone. B2 hits airborne A1, which knocks A1 out of bounds beyond the goalie extended. A1’s last contact with the ground was inbounds short of the goalline.

    • Touchdown.

    • Not a touchdown; the ball is marked at the spot where the ball crossed the sideline short of the goalline.

    Correct Answer
    A. Not a touchdown; the ball is marked at the spot where the ball crossed the sideline short of the goalline.
    Explanation
    The correct answer is "Not a touchdown; the ball is marked at the spot where the ball crossed the sideline short of the goalline." In this situation, A1 was knocked out of bounds by B2 before reaching the goalline. According to the rules, a player must maintain possession of the ball and cross the goalline for it to be considered a touchdown. Since A1 was knocked out of bounds before reaching the goalline, it is not a touchdown and the ball is marked at the spot where it crossed the sideline.

    Rate this question:

  • 48. 

    K1’s kick try is blocked by R2. The ball, which never went beyond the neutral zone, is recovered on team R’s 13 yardline by K7, who advances into R’s end zone.

    • Team K scores one point.

    • Team K scores two points.

    • The ball is dead when it is certain the kick try would not score; K7’s advance is nullified.

    Correct Answer
    A. The ball is dead when it is certain the kick try would not score; K7’s advance is nullified.
    Explanation
    In this scenario, K1's kick try is blocked by R2 and the ball does not go beyond the neutral zone. According to the rules, if it is certain that the kick try would not score, the ball is considered dead. Therefore, K7's advance into R's end zone is nullified and the ball is dead. No points are awarded to Team K.

    Rate this question:

  • 49. 

    Fullback A1 bursts through the line and is grabbed around the legs by defensive tackle B2. Linebacker B3 uses his arm to put A1 in a side headlock and without grasping A1’s facemask or a helmet opening succeeds in helping bring A1 to the ground.

    • Legal.

    • B3 fouled.

    Correct Answer
    A. Legal.
    Explanation
    The action described in the question is legal because linebacker B3 did not commit a foul. Although B3 used his arm to put A1 in a side headlock, he did not grasp A1's facemask or a helmet opening, which would be considered a foul. Therefore, the tackle made by B3, with the assistance of defensive tackle B2, is within the rules of the game.

    Rate this question:

Quiz Review Timeline (Updated): Jan 22, 2024 +

Our quizzes are rigorously reviewed, monitored and continuously updated by our expert board to maintain accuracy, relevance, and timeliness.

  • Current Version
  • Jan 22, 2024
    Quiz Edited by
    ProProfs Editorial Team
  • Jul 21, 2010
    Quiz Created by
    Theory99
Back to Top Back to top
Advertisement
×

Wait!
Here's an interesting quiz for you.

We have other quizzes matching your interest.